The Winners of the 2013 Hongkong Prize

hongkong prize

The hongkong prize is a popular competition in Hong Kong that offers a variety of prizes. These include a hotel stay, a flight and shopping vouchers. However, the odds of winning are low and it is important to know the rules of the contest before you place your bets. Moreover, it is also advisable to play the game on a reputable website so that your information and money are safe.

The prize is awarded to a person or group that has made an impact on Hong Kong society. The winner is usually chosen by a panel of judges and receives a large amount of cash. The finalists also enjoy increased international exposure and top-tier media coverage. They can also exhibit their work publicly in Hong Kong.

This year’s ceremony saw a number of exciting wins. The biggest winner was To My Nineteen-Year-Old Self, a coming-of-age film that stars Louise Wong as Cantopop superstar Anita Mui and is set in the 1980s and 1990s. Other winners included Zero To Hero, a crime thriller starring Andy Lau and Sammo Hung, and the HK-China co-production The Greatest Show on Earth.

Another interesting development was the fact that several journalists won awards in the category of best news writing. This was particularly notable for the South China Morning Post, which swept all three awards in English. Mai Jun, the newspaper’s Beijing-based News Editor (China), won first prize for his story about nationalism taking centre stage in Chinese politics ahead of the Party’s 20th congress. Business reporter Martin Choi won second prize for a story on how salary premiums in jobs related to environmental, social and governance issues have widened since Hong Kong’s return to China.

In addition to the monetary prize, the Hong Kong Science and Technology Innovation Prize honours scientists who have contributed to the advancement of Hong Kong’s scientific and technological innovation. The award is open to all fields of science and technology, including artificial intelligence and robotics, life and health, new materials and new energy, advanced manufacturing, and FinTech. However, the prize cannot be given to more than five persons or teams in a field each year.

The prize was founded in 1996 to honor the memory of Professor John D. Young, who was a leading scholar of Chinese history and a member of the Academy’s Executive Committee. It is a competitive research grant for scholars at the early stages of their careers. The prize was revamped in 2020 to recognize the contribution of scholars who have published a monograph or manuscript on topics in Chinese-language studies and/or in China-related humanities disciplines.

The prestigious Hong Kong Art Prize is one of the most significant annual prizes in the world for contemporary Asian artists. Shortlisted artworks are auctioned, with proceeds split evenly between the artist and SAF’s expressive arts programming. Besides the grand prize, SAF offers three cash prizes for shortlisted works, plus all finalists benefit from increased international exposure, top-tier media coverage, and a public exhibition of their work in Hong Kong.